International Fake Journal Entry #4

April 12, 2010

(Text from left hand page) I thought at first the spray of mud and rock were explosions, so forcefully did the debris fly into the sky. We had to close the windows against the dust-thick air. The man seated ahead of me grunted, “bad year.” Took me a moment to recognize what he said. Badger. The giant badgers of the Blue Claw Mountains! My guidebook, thin as it is, says these earthmovers are myths. But not so. As we passed, I spotted the heaving back and shoveling claws, all the size of a large bulldozer. For what do they dig? Know that, and perhaps they could be trained for mining. But, as it is, these badgers only dig in the Blue Claws, and only where they wish.

These drawings are my best guess based on my observations of only a partially spied animal.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment